The Eastern Caribbean dollar is the cash of each of the seven full members and one partner member from the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). The successor to the British West Indies dollar, it has existed since 1965, and it is regularly abridged with the dollar sign $ or, then again, EC$ to recognize it from other dollar-designated monetary standards. The EC$ is subdivided into 100 pennies. It has been pegged to the United States dollar since 7 July 1976, and the conversion standard is US$1 = EC$2.70. The ISO identifying code is XCD.

The following are the countries and territories that use the East Caribbean Dollar:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Anguilla
  • Montserrat

The Eastern Caribbean Central Bank is located in Basseterre, St Kitts and Nevis. Their website can be found here.


The East Caribbean dollar currently has circulating the following coins and banknotes:

If you have any of the East Caribbean dollar coins and/or banknotes that you want to exchange our four-step process for exchanging them is fast, easy, and secure.